How to Undo Desktop Icons Auto Arrange? [Quick Tip]

If you’ve accidentally reset your custom desktop icons layout by enabling Auto arrange or by hitting a wrong key sequence, here is a neat trick to revert back the original desktop icons position.

Desktop icons layout remains in the memory until you initiate a logoff. During user account logoff or when restarting Explorer cleanly, the desktop icons position is saved to the registry. To quickly revert back original icon positions during the current logon session, forcible kill and restart the Explorer.exe process. To do that, press WinKey + R to launch the Run dialog, type the following command and press ENTER:

taskkill /f /IM explorer.exe

The above command works in all versions and editions of Windows. In Windows Pro editions, alternately, you can also use this command:

tskill explorer

This closes all folder windows, kills Explorer shell and restarts it . The last saved desktop icons position (written during previous logoff) is now applied. Of course, this would work only if you’ve inadvertently changed the desktop icon layout during the current logon session.



Note that gracefully exiting Explorer is not going to work in this case, as it would save the current desktop layout to the registry.


One small request: If you liked this post, please share this?

One "tiny" share from you would seriously help a lot with the growth of this blog. Some great suggestions:
  • Pin it!
  • Share it to your favorite blog + Facebook, Reddit
  • Tweet it!
So thank you so much for your support, my reader. It won't take more than 10 seconds of your time. The share buttons are right below. :)

About the author

Ramesh Srinivasan founded Winhelponline.com back in 2005. He is passionate about Microsoft technologies and he has been a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional (MVP) for 10 consecutive years from 2003 to 2012.

5 thoughts on “How to Undo Desktop Icons Auto Arrange? [Quick Tip]”

Leave a Comment