Restore Microsoft Edge “Close All Tabs” Prompt After Disabling it Accidentally

Microsoft Edge shows the confirmation dialog below when you close the app with multiple tabs currently open. If you have dismissed the dialog after accidentally enabling the “Always close all tabs” option and clicking “Close all”, Edge will no longer show you the prompt from the next time, and the setting is saved to the registry.

Edge "Close All Tabs" Confirmation
Microsoft Edge “Close All Tabs” Confirmation Prompt

Restore Microsoft Edge “Close All Tabs” Prompt

There is no built-in setting to revert to the default setting. To get back the multiple tabs closure warning when exiting Edge, you’ll need to edit the registry and restore the original setting manually. Use these steps:

1. Start the Registry Editor (regedit.exe)

2. Go to the following branch:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\AppContainer\Storage\microsoft.microsoftedge_8wekyb3d8bbwe\MicrosoftEdge\Main

3. Double-click the DWORD value named AskToCloseAllTabs

4. Set the value data for AskToCloseAllTabs to 1

5. Exit the Registry Editor.

To automate the above steps, use the REG file edge-tab-close-warning.zip.

About the author

Ramesh Srinivasan founded Winhelponline.com back in 2005. He is passionate about Microsoft technologies and has a vast experience in the ITeS industry — delivering support for Microsoft's consumer products. He has been a Microsoft MVP [2003 to 2012] who contributes to various Windows support forums.

Leave a Comment

+1
Share
Tweet
Share
Pin